Posted in Uncategorized

The Bottom of the Bottle Sings the Sweetest Songs

The bottom of the bottle sings the sweetest songs to me,

All I do is take a sip and it begins its melodies,

With words that sound much sweeter,

After a swig of beer,

Those same words that brings my heart a symphony of tears.

 –

The bottom of the bottle sings the sweetest song to me,

It whispers in high tunes about the dreams I believe I lead,

It tastes as bitter as vodka,

As it assures me ill be grand,

Then takes it all away with its vulgar little hands.

 –

The bottom of the bottle tells me stories that I love,

It knows no matter where I am there is nothing else above,

The feeling that I get,

When I reach that special place,

Beneath the label on the glass just before the final taste.

 –

The bottom of the bottle tells me the stories that I need,

And it’s so easy because all I have to do is drink,

Not beg, or pray, or plead,

Just tip the rim up to my lips and guzzle it all down,

Then with magic in its power its gives my head a crown.

 –

The bottom of the bottle sings the sweetest songs to me,

It lies with every word and it hates with every tale,

It promises me “You’ll be O.K.” while secretly hoping I fail,

For I’m its only listener,

Its only audience,

So it keeps singing its words to me while I continue trying to dance.

Leave a Reply

